Gum Drops Recipe

When I wrote this post about 10 Fun Valentine’s Day recipes, I knew what I wanted to make. You know those jelly sweets that you get in Lonavla? The soft squishy, colorful, and orange, lemon and strawberry flavored, sugar coated sweets that sell like hotcakes? Did you know you could easily make these at home? I didn’t know either. Until I wrote that post, and I knew right away I was making this for my daughter to give to her friends on Valentine’s day.

But I didn’t want to make them at last minute, afraid that it may fall flat in my face. It has happened to me before. Which is why I wanted to try the recipe first before I made the final thing. I am glad, I did. I learnt a few things, but I also loved the taste. And glad to say, even the kids loved it! This time I set them in ice box, so they turned out quite large. The next time I am going to set them in a tray and cut them into pieces because I don’t have a small heart cookie cutter.

Take a look.

gum drops1

 

Ingredients:

  • 20 g clear unflavored gelatin (available at your local grocer’s)
  • 1/4th cup and ½ cup water
  • 1 and ½ cups sugar
  • food color of your choice
  • flavor of your choice (I used Vanilla)

Step 1:

Sprinkle gelatin on 1/4th cup of water and set aside for ten minutes to bloom. When all the water has been soaked up by the gelatin, it puffs up slightly. This is known as blooming.

Step 2:

Mix ½ cup of water with one and half cups of sugar and bring them to a boil. Once it begins to boil, lower the heat and let it simmer for five more minutes.

Step 3:

Pour the sugar syrup into the gelatin carefully while whisking continuously with a whisk. Keep whisking for two to three minutes till all the gelatin is dissolved in the sugar syrup.

Step 4:

Now add the food color and flavor you want. Go easy on the color. A few drops is all that is necessary. Even the essence necessary is just 1/4th of a spoon.

Step 5:

Use an ice tray to begin with. It is a whole lot easier. Grease the ice slots with a little vegetable oil. Pour the mixture into these and put it in the fridge to set overnight.

The next morning, remove them carefully (They are sticky at this point) and roll them in powdered sugar or regular sugar, whichever you prefer.

Set them outside the fridge on the countertop for 24 hours to crystallize, although they taste pretty good even eaten just as they are right now!

 

Tips:

  • Keep your greased tray ready before you start the other procedures
  • You can alternatively spread the mixture on a foil lined tray. Remember to grease the foil also. Once set you can use a knife or pizza cutter to cut pieces, or you can use cookie cutters to cut shapes.

 

One thought on “Gum Drops Recipe

Thank you for your valuable feedback :-)

